Church of the St. Apostle Peter was built by the Hum Prince Miroslav, brother of Stefan Nemanja. Inscription in stone dedicated to the founder contains no data about the year when it was built, but it is assumed to have been built in 1190. During the riots in Hum in 1252 seat of the Hum eparchy was transferred from the Monastery of Virgin Mary in Ston to the Church of Saint Apostle Peter by the river Lim.
At that time, Miroslav’s Gospel, one of the most beautiful hand-written books in the world, was written for this monastery. The original is kept in the National Museum in Belgrade, and phototype edition is kept in the Church of the Saint Apostle Peter.
This church belongs to the complex of Rascian sacred wholes. This is a Romanic church with Byzantine cruciform scheme. The church has a single nave with dome. Bluish cut stone laid in horizontal lines was used to build the walls. The Church of St. Peter was rebuilt and upgraded several times. The Turks turned it into a mosque. Today original shape of the church is partially recovered.